Time Zones of Democratic Republic of Congo (Congo Kinshasa)

Basic time zone concepts

Rules currently in force

RegionsStandard TimeZone Name
Bandundu, Bas-Congo, Équateur, Kinshasa CityUTC+1Africa/Kinshasa
Kasaï-Occidental, Kasaï-Oriental, Katanga, Maniema, Nord-Kivu, Orientale, Sud-KivuUTC+2Africa/Lubumbashi

Time zone history

Source: This information was adapted from the tz database. Zone names come from that database. The names don't necessarily match any names used in the "real world".

The Congo Free State, as it was then known, observed local mean time until 1897-11-09, when it adopted standard time as shown above.

Time zone names


Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2001-02-21
Copyright © 2001, 2003 by Gwillim Law.