Time Zones of Kiribati

Basic time zone concepts

Rules currently in force

Island GroupStandard TimeZone Name
Gilbert IslandsUTC+12Pacific/Tarawa
Phoenix IslandsUTC+13Pacific/Enderbury
Line IslandsUTC+14Pacific/Kiritimati

These divisions are island groups. They have no administrative function, but serve as a convenient geographical subdivision of Kiribati. The sequence of groups from west to east and their approximate limits of longitude is Gilbert, 180°, Phoenix, 165° W., Line.
The Gilbert Islands include Tarawa, Tabiteuea, Abaiang, Butaritari, Abemama, Nonouti, Beru, Marakei, Nukunau (Nikunau), Maiana, Onotoa, Makin, Arorae, Tamana, Kuria, Aranuka, and Banaba (Ocean).
The Line Islands include Kiritimati (Christmas), Tabuaeran (Fanning), Teraina (Washington), Starbuck, Caroline, Vostok, Malden, and Flint.
The Phoenix Islands include Kanton (Canton, Abariringa), Enderbury, Rawaki (Phoenix), McKean, Nikumaroro (Gardner), Orona (Hull), Manra (Sydney), and Birnie.

Time zone history

Source: This information was adapted from the tz database.

Zone NameStandard TimeFinal Date
Pacific/TarawaLocal Mean Time1901-01-01 00:00
Pacific/EnderburyLocal Mean Time1901-01-01 00:00
UTC-12:001979-10-01 00:00
UTC-11:001995-01-01 00:00
Pacific/KiritimatiLocal Mean Time1901-01-01 00:00
UTC-10:401979-10-01 00:00
UTC-10:001995-01-01 00:00

Time zone names

The tz database contains names and abbreviations for the Kiribatese time zones. They were created by a contributor. Don't assume that these names, or anything like them, have ever been used officially in Kiribati. The "Zone Name" column contains the Unix name for each zone.

StateZone NameAbbrev
Gilbert IslandsGilbert Islands TimeGILT
Phoenix IslandsPhoenix Islands TimePHOT
Line IslandsLine Islands TimeLINT
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2001-05-28
Copyright © 2001, 2003 by Gwillim Law.