Authorities of Svalbard and Jan Mayen

Svalbard and Jan Mayen is listed as a country by ISO standard 3166-1, but Svalbard and Jan Mayen are two Norwegian territories. The list of municipality codes from Statistisk sentralbyrå includes codes for Svalbard and Jan Mayen. Those codes are the basis for the table below. Celvin Ruisdael writes that these divisions are not, in fact, kommuner (municipalities). The local government authorities in Svalbard are a sysselmann (governor), whose jurisdiction is the whole territory of Svalbard; and Longyearbyen lokalstyre (local authority), established on 2002-01-01, whose jurisdiction doesn't extend to any cities other than Longyearbyen.

Jan MayenSJ.JN.JN2211377146
4 municipalities61,39923,706
  • HASC: Hierarchical administrative subdivision codes.
    The middle two letters identify the territory. For key,
    see "Administrative Subdivisions of Countries".
  • Code: Municipality code used by Statistisk sentralbyrå.
  • Area: As corrected by Celvin Ruisdael. Total includes
    23,124 km.² of uninhabited islands.
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2004-12-09
Copyright © 2000, 2001, 2003, 2004 by Gwillim Law.