Districts of Seychelles

Buy data    Donate


Sorin Cosoveanu furnished a spreadsheet with the results of the 2010 census.

Newsletter II-2, an update to the ISO 3166-2 standard, is dated 2010-06-30. It accommodates the changes made in 1998.

ISO 3166-2 Newsletter I-8, published on 2007-04-17, has new ISO commune codes for Seychelles. They are shown in the table below, under the "Change history" heading. They replace codes from a draft version, ISO/DIS 2166-2, which had not been supported.

FIPS Publication Change Notice No. 10, affecting FIPS PUB 10-4, was issued on 2006-03-23. It drops one district, adds three new ones, and changes five. As explained under "Change history", this scenario doesn't quite seem to fit.

Country overview: 

ISO codeSC
LanguageEnglish (en), French (fr)
Time zone+4


Initially a dependency of Mauritius, Seychelles became a separate British colony in 1903-11. It gained independence on 1976-06-29.

Other names of country: 

  1. Danish: Seychellerne
  2. Dutch: Seychellen, Republiek Seychellen (formal)
  3. English: Republic of Seychelles (formal)
  4. Finnish: Seychellit
  5. French: Seychelles fp
  6. German: Seychellen fp, Seschellen fp (obsolete)
  7. Icelandic: Seychelleseyjar
  8. Italian: Seicelle fp, Seychelles
  9. Norwegian: Seychellene, Republikken Seychellene (formal) (Bokmål), Seychellane, Republikken Seychellane (formal) (Nynorsk)
  10. Portuguese: Seicheles, Seychelles, República f das Seychelles fp (formal)
  11. Russian: Республика Сейшельские Острова (formal), Сейшелы (variant)
  12. Spanish: Seychelles, República f de Seychelles fp (formal)
  13. Swedish: Seychellerna
  14. Turkish: Seyşeller (informal), Seyşel Adaları Cumhuriyeti (formal)

Origin of name: 

named in honor of Marie Jean Hérault de Séchelles, French comptroller at the time of discovery

Primary subdivisions: 

Seychelles is divided into 25 districts, plus Outer Islands.

Anse aux PinsSC.PI01SE013,8503,56431
Anse BoileauSC.AB02SE024,0114,036125
Anse ÉtoileSC.ET03SE034,7174,39462
Anse RoyaleSC.RO05SE054,1683,68773
Au CapSC.LO04SE284,2333,21583
Baie LazareSC.BL06SE063,6082,984125
Baie Sainte AnneSC.BS07SE074,8763,7362911
Beau VallonSC.BV08SE084,1203,81652
Bel AirSC.BA09SE092,8572,91952
English RiverSC.RA16SE264,1963,61221
Grand' Anse (Mahé)SC.GM13SE243,1062,594166
Grand' Anse (Praslin)SC.GP14SE143,7273,367229
La Digue and Inner IslandsSC.DI15SE253,0452,7113614
Les MamellesSC.LM24SE292,6672,39121
Mont BuxtonSC.MB17SE173,0893,11010
Mont FleuriSC.MF18SE183,4193,59862
Outer IslandsSC.OI 75848520880
Pointe La RueSC.PR20SE203,0712,71741
Port GlaudSC.PG21SE272,5722,1842710
Roche CaïmanSC.RC25SE303,2322,67321
Saint LouisSC.SL22SE223,2093,27711
26 divisions90,94581,755460178

Territorial extent: 

The main island of Seychelles is Mahé, where the capital, Victoria, is located. Within 100 km. of it are the Inner Islands: Praslin, Silhouette, La Digue, North, Curieuse, and some smaller islands. The Outer Islands are the Cosmoledo Group, including Aldabra, Assumption, and Astove; the Farquhar Group, including Cerf, Saint Pierre, and Providence; and other scattered islands like Desroches. All of the districts are on Mahé except for Baie Sainte Anne and Grand' Anse (Praslin) on Praslin, and La Digue on La Digue Island.

Recently, some islands off the coast at Victoria have been reclaimed from the sea. They haven't been assigned to any district yet. I included their area under Outer Islands.

The UN LOCODE page  for Seychelles lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Origins of names: 

  1. Mahé: named by Capt. Lazare Picault in honor of Bertrand-François Mahé, governor of Mauritius.
  2. Praslin: named in 1768 for César Gabriel de Choiseul, duc de Praslin (1712-1785), then French Secretary of the Navy
  3. Anse aux Pins: = pine cove (French); casuarina trees, resembling pines, grew there
  4. Anse Boileau: after a Captain Boileau who landed there in 1790-06
  5. Anse Étoile: = star cove (French)
  6. Anse Royale: = royal cove (French), for the King's Garden there
  7. Au Cap: = at the cape (French)
  8. Baie Lazare: after Captain Lazare Picault, who landed there 1742-11-22
  9. Baie Sainte Anne: after Sainte Anne Church, located there
  10. Beau Vallon: = beautiful dale (French)
  11. Bel Air: = fine air (French)
  12. Belombre: = beautiful shade (French)
  13. Cascade: after a waterfall in the Cascade River
  14. Glacis: = slope (French)
  15. Grand Anse: = great cove (French)
  16. La Digue: = the dike (French)
  17. Les Mamelles: = the breasts (French)
  18. Mont Buxton: after Thomas Fowell Buxton (1786–1845)
  19. Mont Fleuri: = blooming mount (French)
  20. Plaisance: = pleasure spot (French)
  21. Pointe La Rue: after Madame Larue, early settler
  22. Roche Caïman: = caiman rock (French); the crocodilian species was found there
  23. Saint Louis: after Saint Louis College, located there
  24. Takamaka: for its takamaka trees

Change history: 

  1. ~1938: Seychelles consisted of five districts: Central Mahé, North Mahé, Outlying Islands, Praslin, and South Mahé.
  2. 1947: Source [1] gives the divisions shown for the 1947 census; source [3], the 1977 census. Victoria is included in Mahé North.
La Digue 1,412La Digue1,90014
Mahé North22,206Mahé54,600154
Mahé South 5,991Outer islands700215
All others 2,130Praslin4,30045
Praslin 2,893Silhouette40016
  • Pop-1947: 1947-12-21 census.
  • Pop-1977: 1977-08-01 census.
  • Area: of 1977 districts.
  1. 1965-11-08: Islands of Aldabra, Desroches, and Farquhar taken from Seychelles to form part of the new British Indian Ocean Territory.
  2. 1967: Seychelles divided into eight electoral areas: East Mahé, La Digue and Outlying Islands, North Mahé, Praslin, South Mahé, Victoria North, Victoria South, and West Mahé.
  3. 1976-06-29: Aldabra, Desroches, and Farquhar Islands restored to Seychelles.
  4. 1979: Seychelles divided into 23 districts, as shown in the table below. Apparently these districts didn't cover Inner Islands and Outer Islands.
Anse aux PinsSC.PI01SE01
Anse BoileauSC.AB02SE02
Anse ÉtoileSC.ET03SE03
Anse LouisSC.LO04SE04
Anse RoyaleSC.RO05SE05
Baie LazareSC.BL06SE06
Baie Sainte AnneSC.BS07SE07
Beau VallonSC.BV08SE08
Bel AirSC.BA09SE09
Bel OmbreSC.BO10SE10
Grand' Anse (Mahé)SC.GM13SE13
Grand' Anse (Praslin)SC.GP14SE14
La DigueSC.DI15SE15
La Rivière AnglaiseSC.RA16SE16
Mont BuxtonSC.MB17SE17
Mont FleuriSC.MF18SE18
Pointe la RueSC.PR20SE20
Port GlaudSC.PG21SE21
Saint LouisSC.SL22SE22
  1. 1998: Anse Louis district renamed Au Cap, and new districts of Les Mamelles and Roche Caïman created. The Virtual Seychelles website says that all three districts were created on reclaimed land, but from the map it seems clear that Au Cap is the same area as the old Anse Louis. The FIPS code changes also seem to imply that Anse Louis district was partitioned into Au Cap, Les Mamelles, and Roche Caïman, but again the map doesn't support this interpretation.

Other names of subdivisions: 

  1. Au Cap: Anse Louis (obsolete)
  2. Bel Ombre: Belombre (variant)
  3. English River: La Rivière Anglaise (French)
  4. Outer Islands: Coralline Islands (variant)


  1. [1] Demographic Yearbook , 7th Ed. Statistical Office of the United Nations, New York, 1955 (retrieved 2011-08-20).
  2. [2] "Know the Seychelles", http://www.virtualseychelles.sc/pecu/pecu_districts.htm (dead link, retrieved 2007-04-20).
  3. [3] Encyclopædia Britannica, 15th Edition, Chicago, 1984.
  4. [4] Population and Housing Census 2010 Report . National Bureau of Statistics, Victoria, 2012 (retrieved 2013-02-09).
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-06-30
Copyright © 1999, 2003, 2005-2007, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2015 by Gwillim Law.