Municipalities of San Marino

Buy data    Donate


Sorin Cosoveanu sent me the information that now appears in the change history, from source [1].

I updated the population data using a file from UPECEDS (Ufficio Programmazione Economica - Centro Elaborazione Dati e Statistica = Economic Programming Office - Data Processing and Statistics Center). These figures appear to be computed from municipal population registers. Thanks to Sorin Cosoveanu for bringing them to my attention.

ISO 3166-2 Newsletter I-8, published on 2007-04-17, has new ISO municipality codes for San Marino. They are shown in the table below. They replace codes from a draft version, ISO/DIS 2166-2, which had not been supported.

Country overview: 

Short nameSAN MARINO
ISO codeSM
LanguageItalian (it)
Time zone+1~
CapitalSan Marino


San Marino has been an independent republic for the whole of the 20th century.

Other names of country: 

  1. Danish: San Marino
  2. Dutch: San Marino, Meest Serene Republiek San Marino (formal)
  3. English: Most Serene Republic of San Marino (formal)
  4. Finnish: San Marino
  5. French: Saint-Marin
  6. German: San Marino n
  7. Icelandic: San Marínó
  8. Italian: San Marino, Serenissima Repubblica f di San Marino (formal)
  9. Norwegian: San Marino, Republikken San Marino (formal)
  10. Portuguese: San Marino, São Marino, República f Sereníssima de São Marino n (formal)
  11. Russian: Республика Сан-Марино (formal)
  12. Spanish: San Marino, Serenisima República f de San Marino m (formal)
  13. Swedish: San Marino
  14. Turkish: San Marino Cumhuriyeti (formal)

Origin of name: 

after Saint Marinus (4th cent.), a stonecutter of Rimini who founded San Marino as a refuge from persecution

Primary subdivisions: 

San Marino is divided into nine castelli (sing. castello: municipalities).

Borgo MaggioreSM.BM06SM066,25893
San MarinoSM.SM07SM074,37773
9 municipalities31,2696124

Postal code: 

San Marino uses five-digit postal codes from the Italian system. Postal codes for San Marino are 4789x, where x is a digit.

Further subdivisions:

The castelli are further subdivided into 43 curazie (villages).

Territorial extent: 

San Marino is entirely surrounded by Italy.

The UN LOCODE page  for San Marino lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Origins of names: 

  1. Acquaviva: = living water (after a spring in a rock face)
  2. Borgo Maggiore: = larger village
  3. Chiesanuova: = new church
  4. Montegiardino: = garden mountain

Change history: 

  1. 1925-03-16: San Marino reorganized into 10 castelli: Faetano, Fiorentino, la Fratta, la Guaita, Montale, Montecerreto, Montegiardino, Pennarosa, Serravalle, and Torraccia. La Fratta and la Guaita together constituted San Marino city. Previously it had been divided into 10 gualdarie (wards) and 3 castelli. The wards were Cailungo e Banti, Casole, Domagnano, Gavigliano (or Gaviano), il Castello e le Piagge, Montecucco e Castiglione, San Giovanni sotto le Penne, Sterpeto e Piandavello, Submonte, and Tesano. The castelli were Faetano, Montegiardino, and Serravalle.
  2. 1944-04-02: Pennarosa renamed Chiesanuova; Torraccia renamed Domagnano.
  3. 1945-04-08: La Guaita and Montale merged to form Città e Piagge.
  4. 1945-11-17: Città e Piagge renamed San Marino Città; la Fratta renamed Borgo Maggiore; Montecerreto renamed Acquaviva.

Other names of subdivisions: 

San Marino: Città (informal)


  1. [1] Cenni storici e Curiosità  (Historical Notes and Curiosities), Segreteria di Stato per gli Affari Interni, San Marino (retrieved 2012-12-01).
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-06-30
Copyright © 1999, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2015 by Gwillim Law.