Regions of Senegal

Buy data    Donate


Sorin Cosoveanu showed me where to find the final results of the 2013 census.

Newsletter II-2, an update to the ISO 3166-2 standard, is dated 2010-06-30. It assigns ISO codes to the three new regions created in 2008. "Geopolitical Entities and Codes", the successor to FIPS standard 10-4, was first published in 2010-04. It also gives codes for these regions.

FIPS Publication Change Notice No. 10, affecting FIPS PUB 10-4, was issued on 2006-03-23. It assigns a new FIPS code to the new Matam region, and changes the codes for two old regions. This suggests that the FIPS people think that Matam region also incorporated part of Louga. ISO 3166-2 Newsletter number I-5, dated 2003-09-05, shows the creation of Matam.

Country overview: 

Short nameSENEGAL
ISO codeSN
LanguageFrench (fr)
Time zone+0


In 1900, present-day Senegal was part of French Sudan. In 1904, it became part of the gouvernement général of French West Africa (Afrique Occidentale Française, or A.O.F.). A.O.F. initially comprised the French colonies of Ivory Coast, Dahomey, French Guinea, Senegal, and Upper Senegal and Niger. The name of Upper Senegal and Niger was changed to French Sudan on 1920-12-04. French Sudan and Senegal formed the Federation of Mali on 1959-04-04. On 1960-06-20, the Federation of Mali became independent. It split up into its two original components, Sudan and Senegal, on 1960-08-22. Senegal and The Gambia formed a federation called Senegambia from 1982-02-01 to 1989-09-21.

Other names of country: 

  1. Danish: Senegal
  2. Dutch: Senegal, Republiek Senegal (formal)
  3. English: Republic of Senegal (formal)
  4. Finnish: Senegal
  5. French: Sénégal, République f du Sénégal m (formal)
  6. German: Senegal n
  7. Italian: Senegal m
  8. Norwegian: Senegal, Republikken Senegal (formal)
  9. Portuguese: Senegal, República f do Senegal m (formal)
  10. Russian: Республика Сенегал (formal)
  11. Spanish: Senegal, República f de Senegal m (formal)
  12. Swedish: Senegal
  13. Turkish: Senegal Cumhuriyeti (formal)

Origin of name: 

from ethnic name

Primary subdivisions: 

Senegal is divided into fourteen régions (regions).

14 regions13,508,715196,72275,955
  • HASC: Hierarchical administrative subdivision codes.
  • ISO: Codes from ISO standard 3166-2.
  • FIPS: "Geopolitical Entities and Codes."
  • Population: 2013-11-19 census (source [6]).
  • Capital: Capitals have the same names as their regions.

Further subdivisions:

See the Departments of Senegal page.

The regions are divided into 34 départements, which are further subdivided into arrondissements.

Territorial extent: 

The UN LOCODE page  for Senegal lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Origins of names: 

Dakar: Wolof n'dakar: tamarind tree (answer to a misunderstood inquiry)

Change history: 

  1. 1960-08-22: Senegal became a separate and independent country. It had formerly been divided into cercles, and the cercles into cantons. Upon independence, it created a new administrative structure, consisting of 7 regions, which were subdivided into 27 departments, which in turn were divided into 85 arrondissements, with villages at the lowest level. The arrondissements each consisted of one or more of the old cantons. In a parallel structure, there were also 34 municipalities or urban communes. Of these, only the regions and communes were self-governing. Cap Vert region had a special structure. From 1961-01 it was divided into 6 arrondissements.
  2. 1976-06-26: Louga region split from Diourbel.
Cap VertSG01954,642649,000444,000212Dakar
Sénégal OrientalSG05280,379227,000151,00023,006Tambacounda
  • FIPS: Codes from FIPS PUB 10-4, a U.S. government standard.
  • Pop-1976: 1976-04-16 population (source [4]).
  • Pop-1970: 1970-07 population.
  • Pop-1960: 1960-07 population, rounded to nearest 1,000 (source [3]).
  1. 1984-03-24: Casamance region split into Kolda and Ziguinchor; Sine-Saloum region split into Fatick and Kaolack; name of Cap Vert region changed to Dakar; name of Fleuve changed to Saint-Louis; name of Sénégal Oriental changed to Tambacounda. One effect of these changes was that every region was divided into three departments.
  2. 2002-02-21: Matam region split from Saint-Louis (former HASC code SN.SL). This left Senegal with the following eleven regions:
11 regions9,802,775196,72275,955
  • HASC: Hierarchical administrative subdivision codes.
  • ISO: Codes from ISO standard 3166-2.
  • FIPS: Codes from FIPS PUB 10-4, a U.S. government standard.
  • Population: 2001-01-01 estimate, provided by Karem Abdalla.
  • Capital: Capitals have the same names as their regions.
  1. 2008-09-10: Kaffrine region split from Kaolack (former HASC code SN.KL). Kédougou region split from Tambacounda (SN.TC). Sédhiou region split from Kolda (SN.KD). They had previously been departments with the same names. Eleven new departments were created at that time. The law approving this change was passed on 2008-02-01; the decree took effect on 2008-09-10 (source [1]). The governors of the new regions were installed on 2008-09-01 through 2008-09-03.

Other names of subdivisions: 

  1. Dakar: Cap Vert (obsolete); Dacar (Portuguese)
  2. Saint-Louis: Fleuve, Vallée du Fleuve (obsolete)
  3. Tambacounda: Sénégal Oriental (obsolete)


  1. [1] Decree 2002-172, Gouvernement du Sénégal website at (dead link, retrieved 2003-07-14).
  2. [2] Economic, Social, Demographic analysis of Tambacounda, website of Agence Nationale de la Statistique et de la Démographie, (dead link, retrieved 2008-12-06).
  3. [3] Nelson, Harold D., et al. Area Handbook for Senegal, Washington, 1974. Cites Enquête Démographique Nationale, 1970-71: Résultats Provisoires du 1er Passage, Ministère des Finances et d'Affaires Économiques, Dakar 1971 for population and area data.
  4. [4] 1979 Demographic Yearbook , 31st Ed. Statistical Office, United Nations, New York, 1980 (retrieved 2011-12-28).
  5. [5] Fifth United Nations Conference on the Standardization of Geographical Names. Vol. II. New York: United Nations, 1991.
  6. [6] Rapport Définitif RGPHAE 2013 , p. 252. Agence Nationale de la Statistique et de la Démographie (retrieved 2014-10-05).
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-06-30
Copyright © 2003, 2005-2008, 2010-2012, 2014, 2015 by Gwillim Law.