Turks and Caicos Islands

Buy data    Donate


According to the tz mailing list, Turks and Caicos will switch to year-round UTC-4. That means that on 2014-11-02, the clocks there will not be set back an hour as they would have been if the country had remained on Eastern Time with DST observed.

Country overview: 

ISO codeTC
LanguageEnglish (en)
Time zone-4
CapitalCockburn Town


Turks and Caicos Islands was a dependency of Jamaica until Jamaica became independent, on 1962-08-06. Then it reverted to the status of territory of the United Kingdom.

Other names of country: 

  1. Dutch: Turks- en Caicoseilanden
  2. French: ╬les fp Turks et Ca´ques, ╬les Turques et Ca´ques
  3. German: Turks- und Caicos-Inseln fp
  4. Icelandic: Turkseyjar
  5. Italian: Isole fp Turks e Caicos
  6. Portuguese: Ilhas fp Turcas y Caicos
  7. Russian: Острова Тёркс и Кайкос
  8. Spanish: Islas fp Turcas y Caicos
  9. Turkish: Turks ve Kaykos Adaları

Primary subdivisions: 

Turks and Caicos Islands is not completely partitioned into primary subdivisions.

Turks and Caicos IslandsTC.TC31,458430166Cockburn Town

Postal codes: 

The postal code for all locations in Turks and Caicos Islands, in the U.K. system, is TKCA 1ZZ.

Further subdivisions:

The census reports (sources [1], [2]) break down the population by island. This is not a complete partition of the country's territory; for example, East Caicos and West Caicos are unaccounted for. Source [3] says the country has six districts. Its list shows all of the following except Parrot Cay.

Each of the islands with Typ="d" in the table has a district commissioner. The rest of Turks and Caicos Islands ("g") is administered directly by the central government.

Grand Turkg2,1802,2873,0983,6913,9764,831Cockburn Town
Middle Caicosd532362396272301168Bambarra
North Caicosd1,1509991,2781,2751,3471,312Kew
Parrot Cayg58131
Providencialesg5185589774,82113,02123,769Blue Hills
Salt Cayd448334284208120108Salt Cay Town
South Caicosd8401,0181,3801,1981,0631,139Cockburn Harbor
  • Typ: d = district, g = government-administered.
  • Dates are census dates. Where the total population is greater than the sum of the
    individual islands, it includes the institutionalized. (Sources [1], [5].)


Source [4], a precursor of the FIPS 10-4 standard, lists the following five divisions of Turks and Caicos Islands. There is no way to determine the territorial extent of each one.

Blue Hills (Providenciales Island)TK01
Bottle Creek (East Caicos)TK02
Grand Turk (Capital)TK03
Kew (North Caicos Island)TK04
Middle Caicos (Grand Caicos Island)TK05

Territorial extent: 

Turks and Caicos islands consists of two island groups. The larger is Caicos Islands, including Grand Caicos, East Caicos, North Caicos, Providenciales, West Caicos, South Caicos, Ambergris Cays, Long Cay, Seal Cay, and French Cay. To the east, the Turks Islands include Grand Turk (site of the capital) and Salt Cay.

The UN LOCODE page  for Turks and Caicos Islands lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Population history:



  1. [1] Population of the Turks and Caicos Islands by Island in Census Years , Department of Economic Planning and Statistics website (retrieved 2010-06-12).
  2. [2] TCI Resident Population by Sex, Status and Island 2001-2006 , Department of Economic Planning and Statistics website (retrieved 2010-06-12). By comparison with source [1], this page shows one person displaced from Grand Turk to North Caicos.
  3. [3] "Provinces and Provincial Capitals of the World, 2nd Ed.", Morris Fisher. Scarecrow Press, Metuchen, N.J., 1985.
  4. [4] "Geopolitical Data Elements and Related Features", Defense Intelligence Agency Manual 65-18. Washington, 1972-09-29.
  5. [5] "Census: Population grew by 58 percent ." FP Turks and Caicos online newspaper (dated 2012-08-03, retrieved 2014-04-27).
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-06-30
Copyright © 2005, 2010, 2011, 2014, 2015 by Gwillim Law.