Atoll Communities of Tokelau

Buy data    Donate


An inquiry to the tz mailing list revealed that the Posix standard has probably always been wrong about Tokelau. Before it jumped across the International Date Line, it was observing UTC-11, but most sources said it was on UTC-10. After the jump in 2011, everyone just added 24 hours, making it UTC+14. However, it has now been confirmed that the correct offset for Tokelau is UTC+13. I have updated this page accordingly.

As for me, I used UTC-11 in the book "Administrative Subdivisions of Countries," and the same value on this website until some time between December 13 and 30, 2004 (according to the Internet Archive), when I changed it to UTC-10 for reasons I don't remember, but probably to match up with Posix. I also don't remember where I got the original UTC-11.

On retrieving source [2], I reviewed the data and found that I had misread a figure for the 2006 population of Nukunonu. I fixed it in the table below.

Tokelau moved across the International Date Line, in tandem with Samoa. What that meant in practice is simply that they skipped a day: 2011-12-30. Its standard time changed from UTC-11 to UTC+13.

Country overview: 

Short nameTOKELAU
ISO codeTK
LanguageTokelauan (tkl), English (en)
Time zone+13


The Union Islands, also known as the Tokelau Islands, became a British protectorate in 1911. They were joined with several other island groups to form the colony of Gilbert and Ellice Islands on 1915-11-12. On 1926-02-11, the Tokelau Islands were transferred to New Zealand as a dependency. On 1949-01-01 they became an overseas territory of New Zealand. The name was changed to Tokelau in 1976-12.

Other names of country: 

  1. Dutch: Tokelau eilanden
  2. French: TokÚlaou, Tokelau
  3. German: Tokelau-Inseln fp
  4. Italian: Isole Tokelau
  5. Portuguese: Ilhas Tokelau
  6. Russian: Токелау
  7. Spanish: Tokelau
  8. Turkish: Tokelau

Primary subdivisions: 

Tokelau is divided into three autonomous atoll communities.

3 communities1,4111,466125

Territorial extent: 

Tokelau consists of three atolls: Atafu, Fakaofo, and Nukunonu.

The UN LOCODE page  for Tokelau lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.


  1. [1] 2006 Census of Tokelau: Analytical Report . Statistics New Zealand, 2007 (retrieved 2011-04-23).
  2. [2] 2006 Tokelau Census of Population and Dwellings: Tabular Report . Statistics New Zealand, dated 2006-12-20, retrieved 2012-07-04.
  3. [3] Final count for the 2011 Tokelau Census of Population and Dwellings. Statistics New Zealand, Wellington, 2011-12. Retrieved from 2012-06-27, but not currently available there.
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2016-07-21
Copyright © 2004, 2005, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2016 by Gwillim Law.