Kingdoms of Wallis and Futuna

Buy data    Donate


As of 2015, ISO had not provided subdivision codes for the three kingdoms. On 2015-11-27, it issued subdivision codes as shown in the table below.

I added population data from the 2013 census, thanks to a tip from Sorin Cosoveanu.

A French constitutional reform in 2003 changed the status of Wallis and Futuna from overseas territory to overseas collectivity.

Country overview: 

ISO codeWF
LanguageFrench (fr)
Time zone+12
CapitalMata Utu


Wallis and Futuna Islands have belonged to France throughout the 20th century, and now have the status of an overseas collectivity.

Other names of country: 

  1. Dutch: Wallis en Futuna
  2. English: Wallis and Futuna Islands, Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands (formal)
  3. French: Îles fp Wallis et Futuna, Wallis-et-Futuna
  4. German: Wallis und Futuna
  5. Italian: Wallis e Futuna
  6. Norwegian: Wallisøyene og Futunaøyene
  7. Portuguese: Wallis e Futuna
  8. Russian: Территория островов Уоллис и Футуна (formal)
  9. Spanish: Islas fp Wallis y Futuna, Wallis y Futuna
  10. Turkish: Wallis ve Futuna Adaları

Origin of name: 

Discovered in 1767 by Captain Samuel Wallis (1728-1795)

Primary subdivisions: 

Wallis and Futuna is divided into three kingdoms.

UvéaWF.UVUV986139,0199637Mata Utu
3 kingdoms12,86721182
  • HASC: Hierarchical administrative subdivision codes.
  • ISO: Kingdom code from ISO 3166-2. For full identification in a global
    context, prefix "WF-" to the code (ex: WF-AL represents Alo).
  • INSEE: Kingdom code used by INSEE (Institut National de la
    Statistique et des Études Économiques).
  • Population: 2013-07-22 census.


Note: some sources say that Malae and Leava are alternately called Alo and Sigave, respectively.

Postal codes: 

Wallis and Futuna uses five-digit postal codes beginning with 986, according to the French system.

Further subdivisions:

See the Districts of Wallis and Futuna page.

Uvéa is divided into three districts.

Territorial extent: 

  1. Alo consists of the eastern part of Futuna Island and the island of Alofi, which is uninhabited. Futuna and Alofi together are known as the Îles de Horne (Hoorn).
  2. Singave consists of the western part of Futuna Island.
  3. Uvéa consists of Wallis (Uvéa) Island and adjacent reefs. The country's capital, Mata-Utu, is there.

The UN LOCODE page  for Wallis and Futuna Islands lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Change history: 

1961-07-29: Status of country changed from French dependency, administered from New Caledonia, to French territoire d'outre-mer (overseas territory).

2003-03-28: Status changed to French collectivité d'outre-mer (overseas collectivity).

Other names of subdivisions: 

  1. Sigave: Singave (variant)
  2. Uvéa: Wallis (variant)

Population history:



  1. [1] 2008 census: Decree posted at  (retrieved 2009-06-23).
  2. [2] 1996, 2003 censuses: Statistiques de Wallis et Futuna  (retrieved 2009-06-23).
  3. [3] 2003, 2008 censuses: Wallis et Futuna: Recensement de la population de 2008  (retrieved 2011-04-25).
  4. [4] 2013 census: Authentification des résultats du recensement 2013  (retrieved 2014-02-08).
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-11-28
Copyright © 2001, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2014, 2015 by Gwillim Law.