Buy data    Donate


On 2011-03-31, the status of Mayotte changed from territorial collectivity to overseas department of France. As such, it also becomes an overseas region.

On or about 2007-03-30, Mayotte's international dialing prefix changed from +269 (Comoros) to +262 (Reunion).

Under Law No. 2001-616 of 2001-07-11, the status of Mayotte was changed from territorial collectivity to departmental collectivity (Collectivité Départementale de Mayotte).

According to source [3], Decree No. 77-129 (1977-02-11) named Mamoudzou as the capital of Mayotte, but it also provided that the provisional capital would remain in Dzaoudzi until a date which will be specified by ministerial order.

Country overview: 

Short nameMAYOTTE
ISO codeYT
LanguageMahorian, French (fr)
Time zone+3


Mayotte was part of the French protectorate of the Comoro Islands at the start of the 20th century. On 1912-07-25, the Comoros became a French colony. When they gained full independence on 1975-07-06, the inhabitants of Mayotte voted to remain tied to France. Mayotte formerly had the INSEE code 98402, inherited from the Comoros when they became independent. The code changed to 976xx when Mayotte became an overseas department.

Other names of country: 

  1. Danish: Mayotte
  2. Dutch: Mayotte
  3. English: Overseas Department of Mayotte (formal)
  4. Finnish: Mayotte
  5. French: Mayotte
  6. German: Mayotte
  7. Icelandic: Mayotte
  8. Italian: Mayotte
  9. Norwegian: Mayotte
  10. Portuguese: Mayotte; Maiote (obsolete)
  11. Russian: Майотта
  12. Spanish: Mayotte
  13. Swedish: Mayotte
  14. Turkish: Mayotte

Origin of name: 

from ethnic name Moharais

Primary subdivisions: 

Mayotte has no administrative divisions at this level.


Postal codes: 

Postal codes for Mayotte are five digits, beginning with 976, consistent with metropolitan French postal codes.

Further subdivisions:

See the Communes of Mayotte page.

The collectivité territoriale (territorial collectivity) is subdivided into communes.

Territorial extent: 

Mayotte consists of the islands of Mayotte, Pamandzi, M'Bouini, Bouzi, and M'Zambora.

The UN LOCODE page  for Mayotte lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Change history: 

  1. 1976-12-24: Status of Mayotte changed from French dependency to territorial collectivity.
  2. ~1986: Capital of Mayotte moved from Dzaoudzi to Mamoutsou.
  3. 2011-03-31: Status of Mayotte changed from territorial collectivity to overseas department.

Population history:



Some sources give 131,368 as the 1997 census population.


  1. [1] Évolution de la population de Mayotte depuis 1958  (retrieved 2011-04-09).
  2. [2] Évolution de la population de Mayotte par commune , INSEE (retrieved 2011-04-09).
  3. [3] Code officiel géographique 2004: Documentation - Codes outre-mer. INSEE (dead link, retrieved 2003-07-30).
  4. [4] "212 600 habitants à Mayotte en 2012 - La population augmente toujours fortement ." INSEE (retrieved 2014-11-11).
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-06-30
Copyright © 2004, 2005, 2009, 2011, 2015 by Gwillim Law.