Divisions of Fiji

Buy data    Donate


Update 16 to the U.S. standard GEC is dated 2014-06-30. It removes the codes for the divisions of Fiji (but not the dependency), and assigns codes to the provinces.

ISO has come out with an update to the ISO 3166-1 standard, dated 2011-06-20. The update changes the formal name of Fiji from Republic of the Fiji Islands to Republic of Fiji, and in French from République des Îles Fidji to République des Fidji.

Fiji tried daylight saving time in 1998-2000. It started up again in 2009 and is continuing. Remember that Fiji is in the southern hemisphere, so its DST period spans New Year's Day.

Country overview: 

Short nameFIJI
ISO codeFJ
LanguagesEnglish (en), Fiji (fj)
Time zone+12 ~


Fiji was a British colony from 1874 until it was granted independence on 1970-10-10.

Other names of country: 

  1. Danish: Fiji
  2. Dutch: Fiji, Republiek der Fiji Eilanden (formal)
  3. English: Republic of Fiji (formal)
  4. Finnish: Fidži
  5. French: Fidji fp, République f des Fidji (formal)
  6. German: Fidschi n, Fidschi-Inseln fp
  7. Icelandic: Fídjieyjar
  8. Italian: Figi fp
  9. Norwegian: Fiji, Republikken Fiji (formal)
  10. Portuguese: Fidji, Fiji, República f das Ilhas fp Fidji (formal)
  11. Russian: Республика Островов Фиджи (formal)
  12. Spanish: Fiji, República f de Fiji (formal), Fiyi (obsolete), Viti (obsolete)
  13. Swedish: Fiji
  14. Turkish: Fiji Cumhuriyeti (formal)

Origin of name: 

from Viti (native name)

Spelling note: sometimes the letters -mb- are written as -b-, -nd- as -d-, and -ng- as -g-.

Primary subdivisions: 

Fiji is divided into four divisions and one dependency.

5 divisions837,27118,2747,056


The census reports imply that Rotuma is part of Eastern. Rotuma dependency may have merged with Eastern division. However, the ISO and GEC standards still show them as separate.

Further subdivisions:

See the Provinces of Fiji page.

The divisions of Fiji are subdivided into provinces.

Territorial extent: 

  1. Central contains the southeastern part of the main island of Viti Levu and the small islands of Mbengga and Yanutha.
  2. Eastern contains the Lau Group (Lakemba, Fulanga, Kambara, Ongea Levu, etc.), the Lomaiviti Group (Koro, Ngau, Ovolau, and the Exploring Islands (Vanua Mbalavu, Mango, etc.)), Kandavu, Matuku, Moala, Ono-i-lau, and Totoya.
  3. Northern contains Vanua Levu (the second-largest in the group), Cikobia, Kioa, Nggamea, Rambi, Taveuni, Yandua, and Yathata.
  4. Rotuma contains Rotuma and nearby islets, and is isolated from the rest of the group.
  5. Western contains the northern and western parts of Viti Levu, the Yasawa Group (Nathula, Naviti, Waya, and Yasawa), Vatulele, and the isolated Ceva-i-Ra (Conway Reef).

The UN LOCODE page  for Fiji lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Population history:



  1. [1] Key Statistics: September 2007 , Fiji Islands Bureau of Statistics. Retrieved 2009-01-20.
  2. [2] 1996 Census of Fiji, Bureau of Statistics.
  3. [3] 1979 Demographic Yearbook , 31st Ed. Statistical Office, United Nations, New York, 1980 (retrieved 2011-12-28). This is the source for the 1976 census data.
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-06-30
Copyright © 2000, 2001, 2003-2005, 2009-2011, 2013-2015 by Gwillim Law.