Regions of Niger

Buy data    Donate


An update to ISO 3166-2, issued on 2014-11-03, changes the status of departments to regions.

Sorin Cosoveanu provided me with census data from 2012, in agreement with source [4], and with areas for the regions that I used to replace the former figures in the main table.

Country overview: 

Short nameNIGER
ISO codeNE
LanguageFrench (fr)
Time zone+1


The area now known as Niger was part of French Sudan at the beginning of the 20th century. As the French administration got better organized, the area became a military territory, separate from the colony of Upper Senegal and Niger to its west. Niger became a territory within French West Africa on 1922-10-13. It obtained full independence on 1960-08-03.

Other names of country: 

  1. Danish: Niger
  2. Dutch: Niger, Republiek Niger (formal)
  3. English: Republic of Niger (formal)
  4. Finnish: Niger
  5. French: Niger, République f du Niger m (formal)
  6. German: Niger m
  7. Icelandic: Níger
  8. Italian: Niger m
  9. Norwegian: Niger, Republikken Niger (formal)
  10. Portuguese: Níger, República f do Níger m (formal)
  11. Russian: Голландия (variant), Республика Нигер (formal)
  12. Spanish: Níger, República f de Níger (formal)
  13. Swedish: Niger
  14. Turkish: Nijer Cumhuriyeti (formal)

Origin of name: 

Named for the Niger River, from Tamashek gher n-gheren: river among rivers

Primary subdivisions: 

Niger is divided into seven régions (regions) and one communauté urbaine (urban commune).

8 divisions17,138,7071,267,147489,248
  • Region: Niamey is a urban commune.
  • HASC: Hierarchical administrative subdivision codes.
  • ISO: Codes from ISO 3166-2.
  • FIPS: Codes from FIPS PUB 10-4.
  • Population: 2012-12-10 census
  • Capitals have the same name as their regions.

Further subdivisions:

See the Departments of Niger page.

The regions are subdivided into departments, which are further subdivided into entities of three types: rural communes, urban communes, and administrative stations (postes administratifs).

Territorial extent: 

Niamey is enclaved within Kollo department of Tillabéri region.

The UN LOCODE page  for Niger lists locations in the country, some of them with their latitudes and longitudes, some with their ISO 3166-2 codes for their subdivisions. This information can be put together to approximate the territorial extent of subdivisions.

Change history: 

  1. 1932-09-06: Part of Upper Volta transferred to Niger
  2. 1947-09-04: Districts of Dori and Fada N'Gourma restored to Upper Volta
  3. As part of French West Africa, Niger was divided into sixteen cercles (districts): Agadez, Birni N'Konni, Dogondoutchi, Dosso, Filingué, Gouré, Madaoua, Magaria, Maradi, N'Guigmi, Niamey, Tahoua, Téra, Tessaoua, Tillabéry, and Zinder. Their capitals had the same names as the districts.
  4. 1961-12-31: Law of territorial organization created 31 circumscriptions. De facto, the 16 colonial cercles continued to exist, and served as a level of division above the circumscriptions. Four cercles (Dogondoutchi, Filingué, N'Guigmi, and Téra) had only one circumscription.
  5. 1964-07-17: Niger reorganized into seven departments, subdivided into 32 arrondissements which corresponded to the former circumscriptions.
  6. 1988-04: Capital of Niamey department moved from Niamey to Tillabéri.
  7. 1992: Tillabéri department split from Niamey (whose FIPS code was NG05 before the change). Status of Niamey changed from department to urban commune.
  8. 2001-08-10: Law No. 2001-023 changed the status of departments to regions.

Other names of subdivisions: 

  1. Agadez: Agadès (obsolete)
  2. Tillabéri: Tillabéry (variant)

Population history:



Data for 1960-2001 are from source [2]. Other sources sometimes disagree. Census 2012: source [4].


  1. [1] 2001 census data are from the Institut National de Statistique - Niger  website (retrieved 2009-06-05).
  2. [2] Annuaire statistique des cinquante ans d'indépendance du Niger . Institut National de la Statistique, 2010-08 (retrieved 2012-08-21).
  3. [3] L'Évaluation des effectifs de la population des pays Africains, Tome I. Groupe de Démographie Africaine, Paris, 1982.
  4. [4] Présentation des résultats globaux définitifs du Quatrième Recensement Général de la Population et de l’Habitat (RGP/H) de 2012 . Institut National de la Statistique (retrieved 2014-04-18).
Back to main statoids page Last updated: 2015-06-30
Copyright © 2005, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015 by Gwillim Law.