Statoid Newsletter

Buy data    Donate
Previous    Next newsletter


Changes affecting status:

  1. Anguilla: Found information on the districts.
  2. Bahamas: A government Web page indicates that the divisions have changed, but gives contradictory details.
  3. Benin: Changed spelling from Plateaux to Plateau; changed capitals.
  4. Bosnia and Herzegovina: Brčko has been made a separate district.
  5. Burundi: Decided to count Bujumbura Mairie and Rural as two separate provinces; added statistics.
  6. Comoros: Status of divisions changed from governorates to autonomous islands.
  7. Côte d'Ivoire (regions): Three new regions have been created.
  8. Dominican Republic: There is a new province of San Jose de Ocoa. Santo Domingo province split from Distrito Nacional.
  9. East Timor: Became fully independent of Indonesia on 2002-05-20.
  10. Ethiopia: Confirmation that Dire Dawa is a separate division.
  11. Iceland: The regions will be considered the primary divisions.
  12. Indonesia: The name of the capital of Sulawesi Selatan has changed from Ujung Pandang to Makassar. It was reported that Aceh province received autonomous status on Monday, 2002-12-09.
  13. Kyrgyzstan: ISO 3166-2 reports that Bishkek city was split from Chüy region.
  14. Liberia: Gbarpolu county split from Lofa.
  15. Libya: May have new regions.
  16. Malta: New regions and local councils added.
  17. Mauritius: Changed status of Rodrigues.
  18. Morocco: Corrects an error in regard to Aousserd province.
  19. North Korea: Najin Sonbong-si special city split from Hamgyong-bukto province.
  20. Panama: There may be a new province of Panama Oeste.
  21. Papua New Guinea: Future autonomy for Bougainville.
  22. Philippines: A new region was added.
  23. Romania: ISO 3166-2 reports that Ilfov department was created.
  24. Rwanda: Status of the prefectures changed to province.
  25. South Africa: The name of Northern province is being changed to Limpopo.
  26. Tajikistan: The name of Leninobod oblast was changed to Sogd.
  27. Tanzania: Manyara region split from Arusha.
  28. Timor-Leste: Name changed from East Timor.
  29. Uzbekistan: ISO 3166-2 reports that Toshkent city was split from Toshkent region.
  30. Yugoslavia: The name of the country may be changed to Serbia and Montenegro.

Other data added:

  1. Afghanistan: Added areas of new provinces.
  2. Argentina: Added details to change history.
  3. Bahrain: Added areas and populations from 1991 and 2001 censuses.
  4. Benin: Added areas and populations of new departments.
  5. Bhutan: Added details of change history.
  6. Bolivia: Added populations of departments.
  7. Bosnia and Herzegovina: Added capitals, alternate names of cantons.
  8. Brazil: Updated populations to final figures from 2000 census.
  9. Canada: Postal abbreviation for Newfoundland changed to NL.
  10. Denmark: Added change history.
  11. Dominican Republic: Additions and corrections to the change history.
  12. Finland: Minor changes to NUTS codes.
  13. Germany: Update on the proposal to merge Berlin and Brandenburg.
  14. Greenland: Note about 1973 alphabet reform.
  15. Iceland: Added populations, areas, capitals, HASC codes, and population history.
  16. India: ISO will change one of the state codes. Updated the number of districts per state.
  17. Lithuania: Assigned HASC codes, populations to counties.
  18. Maldives: Added more alternate names.
  19. Micronesia: Added a detail to change history.
  20. Mozambique: Updated populations to the 1997 census.
  21. Norway: Added NUTS codes for counties.
  22. Palau: Correction to the date of independence.
  23. Philippines: Assigned a HASC code to Zamboanga-Sibugay. Corrected the name of a region.
  24. South Africa: Eastern Cape province expected to change its name.
  25. Sweden: Added NUTS codes for counties.
  26. Switzerland: Added NUTS codes for cantons.
  27. Thailand: Updated the populations of provinces.
  28. Turkmenistan: Spelling change for one velayat.
  29. Ukraine: Added 2001 census data.
  30. United Kingdom: Revised NUTS codes.
  31. Venezuela: Adjusted populations of Distrito Federal and Vargas.
  32. Yemen: Assigned HASC codes to new governorates.
  33. Yugoslavia: Corrected an erratum.
  34. Three-letter ISO code for Romania changed from ROM to ROU (see the Country Codes page).
  35. On 2002-05-21, the ISO 3166 maintenance agency released three updates. Two of them contained changes to ISO 3166-1. The first had changes to the names of 12 countries, usually affecting only the formal name. The second gave new codes to East Timor on its independence. These changes are reported on the Country Codes page. The remaining update affected ISO 3166-2. The countries with changes are Albania, Angola, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh (change also affects districts), Benin, Bulgaria, Canada, Cape Verde, China, Congo-Kinshasa (Democratic Republic of Congo), Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Georgia (change also affects districts), Guatemala, Guinea, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kazakhstan, Laos, Malawi, Moldova, Morocco, Nicaragua, Philippines, Spain, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan, and Vietnam.
  36. The ISO 3166 maintenance agency has issued an update to ISO 3166-2, dated 2002-08-20. It lists changes affecting Czech Republic, East Timor, India, Kazakhstan, Macau, Moldova, Palestinian Territory, Uganda, and United Arab Emirates. East Timor and Uganda have new subdivision codes; the rest are just spelling corrections and the like.
  37. The ISO 3166 maintenance agency has issued Newsletter I-4, an update to ISO 3166-2. Countries affected are Burundi, Cambodia, Canada, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, North Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Mauritius, Moldova, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Timor-Leste, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, and Yemen. Some of the changes are minor, including correction of errors that I have already corrected on this Web site.
  38. FIPS has issued Change Notice No. 7 to FIPS PUB 10-4. Countries affected by these changes are Belgium, Burundi, Côte d'Ivoire (departments), Ethiopia, Guinea, India, Indonesia, South Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Lithuania, Macedonia, Romania, Tanzania, Uganda, United Kingdom, and Uzbekistan.
  39. FIPS PUB 10-4 Change Notice No. 8 has appeared. It is dated 2002-06-28. The countries with changes are Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Czech Republic, Indonesia, Ireland, Moldova, Mongolia, North Korea, Turkey, and Zimbabwe. Most of the changes have already been reported on these pages, except for the FIPS code changes.
  40. Jose Gavinha provided me with a list of Portuguese equivalents. Using them, I've made some updates to Afghanistan, Angola, Armenia, Cape Verde, and the errata page.

Secondary divisions:

  1. Benin: Changed status from sub-prefectures to communes; assigned communes to the new departments where they belong.
  2. Bolivia: Added populations of provinces.
  3. Canada: Updated some links.
  4. Dominican Republic: Added the list of municipalities.
  5. Iceland: Added counties.
  6. India: Four new districts created in Jharkhand state; added a couple of alternate names.
  7. Mozambique: Added the districts.
  8. Rwanda: Communes reorganized into districts and municipalities.
  9. Slovenia: Added new ISO codes for communes. There is one new commune.
  10. Taiwan: Additions to change history.
  11. Thailand: Added the list of districts.
  12. United States: Broomfield county, Colorado was formed.

Time zones:

  1. Norway: Corrected the time zone from +1:00 to +1:00 D (daylight saving time observed). This was in error ever since I added time zones to the Statoids site.
  2. United States: Made minor corrections not affecting the actual time zone data.
Back to main statoids page Contact me
Copyright © 2002, 2003, 2007 by Gwillim Law.